top of page
braditude54

Homemade Brioche Buns

Hey y'all! This past week, I gave myself a real challenge with my cooking and baking skills. My family loves McDonald's, but it's not exactly a healthy option in terms of food. Plus, since I've been vegetarian for about 2 years now, there's a lot less that I can eat at fast food restaurants, but I'm fine with it. It's just a pain when we go on a roadtrip and they stop somewhere where I can really only eat fries.


So, I decided to make Big Mac's at home with poutine on the side! The only request I got was that it had to be on brioche buns. Keep in mind, I have never made any type of bun from scratch, let alone brioche, but I was determined. I surfed the web for hours, trying to find a simple, easy recipe that would be possible for me to make before dinner time. I ended up calling my mother, who sent me a link to a recipe she found on Pinterest earlier in the day. It was perfect. It was simple, fast, and didn't need much rising time. I could have it done in time for dinner.


*You can find the recipe for these delicious brioche buns at the link below*

https://www.pipercooks.com/brioche-buns/


I jumped right into it, mixing all my ingredients and putting it aside to double in size for about 45 minutes. While the dough was rising, I diced up the onions, cut pickle slices, shredded lettuce and sliced some cheese. I stored all of those in separate containers and placed them in the fridge to stay fresh and cold. I also made my mom's homemade burger sauce that resembles the Big Mac sauce you'd normally get from McDonald's. (I put it on everything.)


Finally, it was time to shape the buns and let them rise once more. After the finally rise, it was time to put the buns in the oven and hope for the best. I was nervous, pacing around the kitchen for those 15 minutes while the first batch was baking. Were these going to turn out? Would they get golden brown? What if they taste like dirt and my brother doesn't like them? If these don't turn out, I'm screwed. We don't have any other buns for dinner.


Ding ding ding! The timer goes off, and it's time to face the buns. I slowly open the oven door and pull out the tray to reveal the most beautiful, golden buns I've ever laid my eyes on. I jumped with joy and loaded the next batch into the oven. I had made a double batch so I could take the bottoms of 5 buns to place as the middle bun in our Big Mac's. I quickly ran around the house, handing a free top bun to each of my family members and asking them to try it. I wanted to make sure it passed the test inspection, especially from my younger brother.


Sure enough, they loved it. We ate dinner, which went by pretty quickly. In the past 2 days alone, my father, husband, and brother have repeatedly asked me to bake them more brioche buns. They were an absolute hit with everyone and super easy. My brother states that he needs more so he can use them in his school lunches. He has to be the 'coolest' one with the cool homemade buns.

Well, I'm off to make more brioche. Tomorrow, homemade pasta for the first time! Wish me luck and enjoy a picture of my buns!


- B-Raditude




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page